Winners recognised for empathy and aroha at the 2021 awards

12 operators announced as tourism industry award winners.

Qualmark and Air New Zealand are thrilled to announce the winners of the Qualmark 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Awards 2021. 

The awards, which took place at the Christchurch Art Centre, celebrate outstanding tourism operators throughout New Zealand. This year, the awards are particularly meaningful given the challenges faced by the tourism industry and are an opportunity for the industry to come together.

“We were thrilled to see so many entries this year and want to acknowledge each and every operator who entered for their dedication to supporting their community,” says Sue Parcell, Chair of the Judging Panel.

“The integrity and genuine commitment to manaakitanga, kaitiakitanga and whanaungatanga the winners demonstrated to visitors and the communities they operate in is remarkable and their recognition is well deserved.”

WINNERS – Qualmark 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Awards 2021

Winners are available for interviews, please contact: 

Diane Clayton - Product Development Manager | | 021 864 577


What is Qualmark?

Qualmark is New Zealand tourism’s official quality assurance organisation, providing travellers with a trusted guide to quality travel experiences in New Zealand. All operators who have achieved Qualmark status are invited to enter the awards.

How are the Qualmark 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Awards judged?

The awards identify the highest quality tourism products in the market, those offering world class experiences which apply best practice in terms of sustainability by looking after the people and the land.

Applicants have the opportunity to tell the story of how their unique combination of landscapes, people and activities cannot be found anywhere else in the world – that it is a "100% Pure New Zealand" experience. Operators must also show how they are embracing the industry’s core values:

  • Manaakitanga - showing aroha to your people and community
  • Tiaki – their duty of care for people and place, a commitment to the enhancement of their operating environment
  • Whānau – maintaining connections, commitments and caring for your own people


Who are the judges?

The Judging Panel is comprised of representatives from Tourism New Zealand and Air New Zealand who are industry leaders in Manaakitanga and tourism sustainability.

  • Tony Rogers – Director Marketing, Tourism New Zealand
  • Hemi Sundgren – Pou Arahi, Tourism New Zealand
  • Sue Parcell – Chief Financial Officer, Tourism New Zealand
  • Megan Schloeffel – Head of Sustainability, Air New Zealand
  • Susanne Becken – Principal Science Investment Advisor, Department of Conservation

For Media

You can find more information on each operator here