Community First for 100% Experience Award winners

Seven exceptional visitor experience operators have been celebrated at the inaugural Qualmark 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Awards. The Awards recognise excellence in sustainable visitor experiences and were presented at Parliament tonight by Minister of Tourism, Hon. Kelvin Davis.

“The 2019 Qualmark 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Award recipients are some of New Zealand’s top visitor experiences, living and breathing sustainability and ensuring their communities reap the benefits of their success,” says Qualmark General Manager, Gregg Anderson.

 “The operators adopted a blend of conventional and traditional practices to support long-term environmental, financial and community sustainability. It’s fantastic to be able to recognise the recipients’ commitment to enriching their communities and natural environment for future generations”

 Tourism New Zealand Chief Executive and Award judge, Stephen England-Hall says: “The 2019 Qualmark 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Award recipients exemplify how tourism positively impacts our communities while contributing to New Zealand’s reputation as a world-class visitor destination.”


The 2019 Qualmark 100% Pure Experience Award recipients are:

  • Camp Glenorchy - Eco Retreat (Central Otago)
  • Franz Josef Glacier Guides - Glacier Heli Hike (West Coast)
  • Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa (Canterbury)
  • Kaitiaki Adventures - Raft the Kaituna (Bay of Plenty)
  • Real Journeys - Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise (Fiordland)
  • Redwoods Treewalk - Redwoods Treewalk and Nightlights Experience (Bay of Plenty)
  • Rotorua Canopy Tours - The Original Canopy Tour (Bay of Plenty)


Qualmark is New Zealand tourism's official mark of quality. The 100% Pure New Zealand Experience Awards are open to all Qualmark gold accredited operators. Over 100 entries were received for this year's awards.

 Judges were looking for entries demonstrating excellence in visitor hosting and a commitment to Tiaki - Care for New Zealand, a tourism industry initiative to encourage travellers to care for people, place and culture while in New Zealand.

This year’s judges were: Former Chair of Tourism New Zealand, Dame Kerry Prendergast; Tourism New Zealand Chief Executive, Stephen England-Hall; Tourism New Zealand Chief Financial Officer, Sue Parcell; Air New Zealand Head of Sustainability, Lisa Daniell, and; Air New Zealand Sustainability Advisory Panel and Director of the Griffith Institute for Tourism, Dr. Susanne Becken.


For more information:


In this section